Long overdue post – Life update

It’s been 17 months since I last posted.
This blog was fading into a memory.

This is my first and only blog and I had wished to put a post out every month.
I guess I have some catching up to do, 17 posts to be exact.

I’m a software developer and I find the work I do to be quite logical and methodical, It’s creative in it’s own sense but I felt like there was something missing, a place to vent my thoughts on the projects I was involved in and about the articles I was reading about new technologies.

I want to share great websites and podcasts that I’ve found, or books that have changed my view on things.
Similar to the way I use twitter (and I’m sure many others do), where you post something not for your followers but for yourself, as a little reminder of awesome websites, quotes or images.

I want this blog to be more personal than twitter, and more then 140 characters per post!

The more I read others material, the more it inspires me to write my own.
Even if it’s not the highest quality stuff or if nobody reads it, it’s a personal development tool.
If you are reading this, I hope you find something useful here.


So what has been keeping me so damn busy?

My last post was in March 2014, I was coming up to my second year summer exams while working in a local retail store CeX as a sales advisor.

It was a tough enough time juggling college and work, I had gotten the job in the previous September, so through the entire year I was working.

College itself is like a job, you have the required approximate 25 hours of lectures, plus evenings and weekends studying which for me work is out at 12 to 36 hours a week.
I’d often stay in college until 10pm a few evenings a week and some weekend spend 10am to 10pm Sat and Sun delving into some computing topic, especially if I have a project in full swing (which I always do).

Add the minimum of 20 hours of work onto this and you’re life is literally college, study, work, sleep, shower.
Well, it was for me.
When you have no other options you end up doing amazing things.
I helped organise GMIT’s hackathon that November as well, a big enough task to take on (I’ll also be posting about that event).

GMIT Hackathon 2K13
GMIT Hackathon 2K13
GMIT Hackathon 2K13
GMIT Hackathon 2K13

I also did Horse riding lessons during the first semester and a few robotics workshops in the second semester.

Once Summer began I continued to work in CeX, having a great time, lots of fun nights out in Galway City, jogs along the prom, burritoes and iced coffees in the sun.
I was so happy to have some spare time.

Boojum...
Boojum…
Saltihill (Post 2nd year Summer)
Saltihill (Post 2nd year Summer)
Claddagh (Post 2nd year Summer)
Claddagh (Post 2nd year Summer)

Then I received an email from Apple about an interview, I was over the moon.
Finally a job in IT, I had been working a string of sales jobs beforehand which I was good at, but were becoming increasingly more mundane, I wanted something related to my field of study for a while.

New iMac for work
New iMac for work
Apple advisor
Apple advisor
Perks of the job
Perks of the job

I was lucky enough to land the Job with Apple at the end of July as an at home technical advisor, I worked there all through third year in college.
A couple of friends from college and my house-mate also got the job, so we had a strong Apple presence in Galway, it was a good Summer.

First time meeting this dude
First time meeting this dude
Apple party prep
Apple party prep
Apple party, full shteam ahead
Apple party, full shteam ahead
Apple chill night
Apple chill night
Apple night out
Apple night out

Third year in college…

I said goodbye to my old place, where I had resided for two years, in Galway City centre.

Kirwans Lane
Kirwans Lane
Old room (City centre)
Old room (City centre)

I moved out closer to GMIT, where college was closer and pubs were farther, I thought this to be a smart mix knowing college was going to be getting tougher.

Roscam clouds
Roscam clouds
Office room sunrise
Office room sunrise
New office
New office
Apple work
Apple work
Apple work
Apple work

Me and two other fellow Apple employees moved into the house, spruced it up, wired up three internet connections and turned it into a call centre.

Galway Apple HQ
Galway Apple HQ
New house selfie
New house selfie
House-mates halloween costume
House-mates halloween costume

During that third year in college I had a some big projects, it was another strenuous year balancing work and college but high results were achieved and I made it out alive.

I had an interview with Cisco in Galway.

Cisco interview
Cisco interview

Watched some awesome TV shows.

BMO
BMO
Life life life
Life life life

My friends cat modelled the Apple watch.

Moooosi (Vytas' cat)
Moooosi (Vytas’ cat)

During that third year I had a few projects including a cross platform game called DodgySpike, a food ordering app for the colleges canteen and an online stock trading website called Stock Street.
(I’m going to create a detailed blog post about each of these projects. I’ll include information about the brainstorming process, what technologies were used and what I was trying to achieve.)

Project group at work
Project group at work

Group in Thurles for the 2015 Games Fleadh

Games Fleadh
Games Fleadh

There were many cycles that year

Roscam bridge sunset
Roscam bridge sunset

After a long hard year, the champagne was revealed.

Third year over party
Third year over party
Third year over party
Third year over party

 

Third year was a crazy busy time but also really enjoyable, made some really close friends and learned a hell of a lot.

I got accepted to do work placement at Ericsson for the Summer in Athlone, so that’s the next step in this journey…

 

I plan to put out monthly posts, I have more free time now and more to talk about.

Leave a Reply

