A Summer in Ericsson

Post third year Summer feels soon
Post third year Summer feels soon

In October of Third year I was accepted to do work place in Ericsson (based in Athlone) for three months during the Summer.
I was super happy about this, one other person in the course got this placement, along with two electronic engineers in the college.

Last day in Galway double rainbow
Last day in Galway double rainbow
Movie to Athlone
Bags packed, ready to go

First train of many to Athlone.

Moving to Athlone
Moving to Athlone

My first time in Athlone, up on the Castle below.

Athlone first visit
Athlone first visit
Ericsson badge
Ericsson badge
Ericsson Canteen
Ericsson Canteen

At this moment in time I have only one day left at Ericsson.
I was involved with multiple teams and exposed to a multitude of technologies.
It was great to get an insight into how a large multinational operates.
I’ll be posting more about my experience soon.

I went on some cycles around the East side of Lough Ree.

Lough Ree Cycle
Lough Ree Cycle
Lough Ree Cycle
Lough Ree Cycle
Lough Ree Cycle
Lough Ree Cycle
Lough Ree Cycle
Lough Ree Cycle
Lough Ree Cycle
Lough Ree Cycle

Healthy snack after a healthy cycle.

Healthy lunch
Healthy lunch

We had a cat break into the house.

Cat burgler
Cat burgler

I found out Ericsson work parties are amazingly delicious.

Ericsson work party
Ericsson work party

My desk at work adorned by a prize I won at the above work party.

Ericsson desk
Ericsson desk

The bridge I cross on my way to the supermarket.

Athlone bypass
Athlone bypass

Galway weekend visit with the CEO of Blue Dart Media.

Galway visit
Galway visit

Leitrim boat trip on Lough Gill to the Lake Isle of Inishfree, made famous by W. B. Yeats.

Leitrim visit (Lake Isles of Inishfree)
Leitrim visit (Lake Isles of Inishfree)

And of course a weekend in Athlone with my house-mate Mark #1 Lydon.

Weekend in Athlone
Weekend in Athlone

It was a great summer, I had to move to Athlone where Ericsson is based.
I had a Spar and a Lidle near by for groceries, I could nearly see Ericsson from my house and their was a gym right around the corner.
Everything one could need.

Athlone bedroom
Athlone bedroom

I spent the evenings relaxing, watching movies and playing games.
I spent the weekends back home in Leitrim, with my house-mates in Athlone or in Galway having the craic.

I always like to have personal goals/projects on the side, I chose two this summer:
-Get my driving license
-Get in shape

I currently have done 18 driving lessons and feel pretty confident as a driver, my test will be sometime in October.

Driving lesson
Driving lesson

I have been going to classes in the gym the past 5 weeks without fail.

Gym going well
Gym going well

Success! 🙂

Some gym quotes I like:

Gym inspiration #2
Gym inspiration #2
Gym inspiration
Gym inspiration

Summary

I found Ericsson to be a brilliant place to work.
The surroundings are friendly and inviting, the people are very welcoming and are always there to help you out.

Leave a Reply

